## **GRADUATE COUNCIL MEETING**

## Wednesday, November 20, 2024

## 2:00pm

## STV 401a

- 1) Call to Order
- 2) Approval of Minutes Meeting of Wednesday, October 23, 2024
- 3) Administrative report
  - a) Applications/Admit Update as of 11/9 Week 45
  - b) Grad Coordinator Lunches Wrapped for the Semester
  - c) Graduate School PD Sessions Tentative Schedule
    - i) Graduate Practicums 1/29 3 pm
    - ii) Thesis/Dissertation Process 2/26 3 pm
    - iii) OIE Oriented Session 3/19 3 pm
    - iv) Holistic Admissions 4/16 3 pm
  - d) Dissertation Completion Grant Winners
    - i) Karon Stewart (MAT)
    - ii) Austin Calhoun (BSC)
    - iii) Emily Jasinski (PSY)
    - iv) Bianca Sierra (PSY)
    - v) Kierra Peterson (PSY)
    - vi) Robby Anggriawan (TCH)
  - e) Help from Registrar to move the remaining 300 grad classes to a 400 level course
  - f) Grad Progress Reports
  - g) Doctoral Recognition Brunch 12/13
- 4) Committee reports
  - a) Research Committee
    - i) Report
    - ii) Ora Bretal Winners

- (1) Khadidja Belhadi (ENG)
- (2) Mankirat Kaur (FCS)
- iii) Fisher Award Winners (News Article)
  - (1) Overall Winner Rashmi Dangol (CAST AGR) Performance of Pennycress in some Illinois Cropping System chaired by Dr. Nicholas Heller
  - (2) First Runner-up Mojde Kalantari's (WKCFA CTK) The Development of a Young Adults Cancer Patient Peer Match Application chaired by Dr. Kristen Carlson
  - (3) MAGS/ProQuest Distinguished Master's Thesis Award Nominee (only open this year to Disciplines of Social Sciences; and, Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering) Courtney Ebersole (CAS-SS SOC) Let's Talk about Sex (Work), Baby: Women College Students and their Experiences Producing Online Sex Work chaired by Dr. Jason Whitesel
  - (4) College Level Winners
    - (a) Xan Daggett (CAS-Hum ENG) Digital Safe Spaces: Nonbinary Community Building on Tiktok chaired by Dr. Derek Sparby
    - (b) Gracious Donker (CAS-Sci BSC) Investigating the Antibiotic Potentiating Effects of a Novel Reactive Oxidant Species-Generating Antimicrobial chaired by Jan-Ulrik Dahl
    - (c) Julia Martin (COE TCH) When Curriculum Comes to Life: Making French Language (L2) Acquisition a Lived Experience and the Effect of Students' Progression Towards Proficiency chaired by Dr. Becky Beucher
- b) Membership/Student Development Committee
  - i) Report
  - ii) Lela Winegarner Scholarship Winners
    - (1) Patrick Tawiah (BSC)
    - (2) Eric Korankye (ENG)
    - (3) Ishmael Neequaye (ENG)
    - (4) Ofosu Aning (AGR)
    - (5) Feyipitan Sadiku (SWK)
- c) Curriculum Committee
  - i) Report
- d) Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee
  - i) EDI Tuition Scholarship Winners
    - (1) Kwame Patterson (EAF)
    - (2) Taylor Carter (KNR)
    - (3) Stephanie Vargas (CJS)
    - (4) Jewel Woodard (EAF)

- (5) Dzidzor Klu (ECO)
- ii) Report
- 5) Old business
- 6) New Business